Match Day

28 Mar

I have been dragging my feet about posting about our Match Day because I really don’t want to reveal where we are going. NOT because I am embarrased about where we ended up, au contraire. We are thrilled(!) with our match. It’s more about the whole google your name and up comes your address, phone number, social security number and debit card pin that freaks me out! So I figure if I at least TRY to keep our location on the D.L. then maybe I won’t have nightmares about people finding me! Paranoid? Maybe, but J still has many, many more overnight calls to do. Which means I will be HOME ALONE! And I saw that movie so I know all the bad things that can happen! 😉

Anyways, back to our Match Day. It was seriously the most exciting and anticipated day EVER. While waiting for our envelopes to be handed out, other wives were saying how it was like their wedding day. Full and anticipation and excitement. I don’t know about y’all but my wedding day was NOT like Match Day. Our wedding was full of joy, love, all things romantic and THE KNOWN! I knew we were going to be married. I knew we were going on a honeymoon the next day. I knew we would be starting med school right out of the gate. I knew the home we would be living in. Match Day… not so much. I knew NOTHING! I was just so freaking excited to find out something!

So J and I woke up way too early after staying up way too late the night before. We got all dolled up to celebrate St. Patrick’s Match Day because we are fun like that.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So we get to the building where our fate is being handed out and meet up with some friends outside. They all laugh at our outfits. (btw, seriously? No one else thought of dressing up for fun on St. Pat’s Day? COME ON!! LAME!!) Our other friends (who I all convinced should dress up hee hee hee) finally arrived and into the room we are taken.

They try to convince us that we are hungry and should eat. I got food, looked at it and thought I was going to throw up. So into the trash it went. J ate every bite of his. Then it happened. No, not handing out the envelopes. Just the Dean walking around with the envelopes in his hand! How RUDE!!! oh the torture! Then they get up and make announcements about the class’ stats. Like how many states the students matched at, how many is in each specialty, etc. etc. Then with no warning they called a name out. I, however, didn’t realize this name was a person in the class until J yelled out “What!?!? We’re starting!?!?” Then my heart dropped and I was glad there was nothing in my stomach. Names were being called out left and right! BOOM a name and then BOOM another name. J must have been freaking out cause he was yelling for them to “slow down! It’s too fast!” Too fast, love? No way! Let’s get to your name! The anticipation was killing us!

So they are calling out names and no one sitting in our group of 20 (med students + wives) is being called. Not one. We are all just sitting there. Blah! Then, by the mercy of all that is holy, they called J’s name. He stands up and then proceeds to RUN to the front to pick up his enevelope.

He runs back to me and sits down. We smile for a cute little picture.

And then…

Suspensful, huh? 😉

J says he’s not going to open it.

We sit there.

I look at the envelope and then back to J. Envelope, J. Everyone is yelling for him to open it, but he’s not moving. He’s just staring at it.

Hold up. Wait just a second. What the heck is going on? Why are we not opening it?

I lovingly and supportingly sit there, give him a gentle little hug and say “Dear, open the BEEPing letter. Please.” Ha! (Sorry mom!)

So J starts to open to letter. Everyone around us is closing in wanting to see where we matched to. I am feaking out. Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh. Out comes the tri(!)folded sheet of paper. He opens the top and all you can see is the letterhead and bunch of other boring words.

But there is a slight viewing of the words “Congratulations, you have matched!” Open it a little more and all this other nonsense mumbo-jumbo…

And then we see it.

Well, I guess I saw it first 😉 You have matched into Radiology- Diagnostic at blank blank blank blank blank blank blank (blanks not equivalent to name of place). It seems so anti-climactic to not say where. I want to tell you all and brag about what a great place my husband got into. How all his hard work paid off and how I couldn’t be more grateful for his dedication to doing his best every single day for 4 straight years. All those days he missed playing and spending time with me and our families were not left in vain. He did it! He got into residency for radiology at an awesome place!

We were so excited and beyond grateful. I didn’t cry while there, but I cried when I watched the video of us opening the envelope after we got home. It was just so right. God knows what he is doing and we couldn’t be happier. We ended up getting our #3 pick for intern year and our #3 pick for Radiology (which we expected to get since #1 and #2 were both a pretty wishful ranking).

I then presented J with a hat from the place we matched to.

I had secretly picked out hats from our top 4 places and brought them with me! Sneaky! Wait, what? This isn’t the nba draft? Shoot! Oh well. (I highly reccomend getting something from the places you might end up at. J really loved it!)

We talked with everyone and found out where they were all going. Some are staying and some are going. Most people were either really excited or happy. We really didn’t talk with many people who were totally shocked and bummed at where they ended up. It was a good day! Yay for Match Day!

PS ~ Why yes, I did make my own little match day shirt! Thanks for asking! 😉

We were completly and emotionally exhausted! Such a great day! The next chapter of our lives is about to begin!

 

9 Responses to “Match Day”

  1. Life of a Doctor's Wife March 28, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    I LOVE your Match Day “costumes”! So cute! What a fun idea!

    And CONGRATS to you both for matching!!! And for ranking so high! That is awesome. Yay!!! So excited for you both.

  2. MJ @ MD School Mrs March 28, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    Oh my gosh! The suspense while reading this was killing me! Seriously – I was on the edge of my seat. I loved all of the photos along the way…and that you have a video of opening the envelope! Such memories. 🙂 Congrats on matching to one of your top picks! What a weight that has been lifted off your shoulders!

  3. DJ March 29, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    You and your friends are too cute, and I love the idea of getting hats – it really does feel like the draft! Congratulations on your match!

  4. Just Another Doctor's Wife March 30, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    Congratulations to you both!!!! What an exciting day, huh?? 🙂 You wrote about it beautifully. I could feel the suspense via the web! So happy for you!

  5. MJ @ MD School Mrs April 3, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    Hey girl – I gave you a little blog award…hope you haven’t gotten it before! Go check it out here: http://mdschoolmrs.blogspot.com/2011/04/blogging-award-for-me.html

    Hope you’re having a great weekend! 🙂 MJ

  6. Anne April 27, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Just came across your blog and had to say hi – and congratulations on the match! We went through that all last year… love your idea of the hats – we totally thought that the administrators at match day should present all the students with a lab coat with their match school’s logo like the NBA draft or something.

  7. powerpointsandlullabies July 10, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    I came across your blog and loved your Match Day post. We went through the same process this year (luckily also with successful results, but definitely not nearly the creativity in the costume department!) and my husband recently started residency. I hope all is off to a good start for you both!

  8. Anita February 9, 2012 at 12:39 am #

    Match Day is coming up for us and I am so glad you gave the idea of getting a hat from the places. Awesome idea! Thank you! My husband will LOVE that! 🙂

  9. Jillian Rae March 13, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    Ahhhh congrats! Gosh the suspense of just reading that had my heart pounding for you! haha! That is so exciting. My hubby and I are at the other end and waiting to hear back about acceptances this week, eeeeee! I can soooo relate to everything you were feeling on Match day. It is so unexpectedly stressful to just sit and WAIT. I can NOT wait until the waiting is over! Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

