I’m still here!

17 Jan

Can it really have been over a month ago since my last post? yikes! I knew the Christmas/Interview season has been CRAZY, but wowza! Ok, so since I know you all are DYING to know what I have been up to šŸ˜‰ … let me catch you up to speed. Um basically just interviewing, working and opening some presents! (YAY!) J has been going all over for interviews. This last week he had 4 in one week! Talk about being exhausted! Anyway, he’s been doing great. He has only left minor things in hotel rooms in various states, but don’t worry, he has never forgotten his pants šŸ˜‰ He has been coming home with definite opinions of the programs, which has been very nice. I was afraid he would come home from them and love them all :/ but thankfully that has not been the case.

The interview I went on turned out to be great. Since J has chosen a speciality (radiology) where people are not as… uh… how should I put it?… uh… sociable… it was easy to start conversations with the residents. Sad, but true. The residents would ask questions and no one would answer. LOL. So after a LONG PAUSE J would answer. Eventually the residents gave up trying to get the other applicants to talk. HA! (Let me just say that not everyone was like this, some were very nice and talked) šŸ˜‰ Anyway, it went great. I didn’t do anything retarded and I think that having me there really showed the residents how serious we were considering their program. We loved the city and had a close friend give us tips on what neighborhoods would be a good option to live in. Its strange to actually think how close we are to MAYBE moving. 2 more months til match day! scary.

Moving on to Christmas…

Christmas was wonderful! It is my favorite holiday and I just love decorating the house, baking, shopping(!) and wrapping presents. My sister and I went over to my Grandma’s to bake. She taught us all her secrets, yipee! J ate them all in a week! I think he liked them šŸ˜‰ We spent one day with J’s family and another with mine. Both were fabulous! We just can’t get enough of them! Its especially fun when you have little nephews around smiling and being excited for Christmas morning! =)

With all this craziness of interviewing we decided we needed a vacation. So we went online, found a package deal, bought it and packed our bags. On the day after Christmas we flew out to Tahiti and Bora Bora. We have been DREAMING of this since planning our honeymoon and just went for it! And it was the best decision we ever made! We knew we would never get to go if we didn’t do it now. Let me just tell you that all the wonderful things you have heard about it are all true! We had an awesome time staying in the overwater bungalow(!) and soaking in the sun! totally great! I’ll just leave pictures for you šŸ˜€

 

A view from above of our bungalow

J relaxing and enjoying his view. I think he deserves it šŸ˜‰

Doing some snorkeling off our bungalow

Swimming under the bungalow. It had glass floors to see through! =)

My little monkey man climbing the trees

Swimming with sting rays. OMG so scary!

The most gorgeous sunsets!

As you can see IT. WAS. BEAUTIFUL. If you ever have a chance to go, GO!

4 Responses to “I’m still here!”

  1. MJ January 18, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    Oh. My. Gosh. I could use some water that blue in my life!

  2. Cami January 18, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    Oh my goodness, I’m so jealous! Good for you though! I’m a huge proponent of splurging when you have time together. You need the memories when you have to go days without a real conversation, huh?

  3. Just Another Doctor's Wife January 19, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Tahiti!!! Wow I’m more than jealous! The pics look like postcards – can’t believe it’s real. Good for you for just doing it. Good luck with interviews (to you and your Guy!) I had to laugh about the radiologists and not being very social… I love the stereotypes of each specialty – sort of funny (and a bit true to a point!). Glad to have you “back”.

  4. Lauren January 19, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    AH! I am so jealous! C and I should’ve done THAT instead of driving all over Texas.

    I hope interviewing is still going well for you guys!

Leave a Reply

