Interview Season

5 Dec

Interview season is in full swing. J has been going all over the country to visit programs, while I am at home making the money so we can afford for him to interview wherever he wants. I haven’t yet been on a interview but all that is about to change come next week! Eeek! I am excited and nervous :/ The program he is going to has invited ME to the pre-interview dinner. Please Lord do NOT let me mess it up for him! Am I overreacting? I just really hope I don’t say anything that will totally ruin it for him. HA! I have a little history of having many blonde moments and saying things that really don’t make any sense. For example, J says that my vocabulary needs a little help. Sometimes he will inform me that the word I just used (so eloquently, might i add) is actually not a word at all. WHAT!? He claims I make up words. I, of course, protest and tell him to GOOGLE it, which then is always followed by a “you were right” coming out of my mouth. So, needless to say, I am restricting my vocabulary and word choice to 2-3 syllables per word. That should be safe right?

So I am very curious how these little dinners work. J has been telling me its just a get-to-know the residents time, but has also said that there were no spouses at them. So ladies, did any of you go to one? Any advice? I like details so please don’t feel the need to shorten or edit your reply! Thanks!

4 Responses to “Interview Season”

  1. Lauren December 6, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    I wasn’t invited to a pre-interview lunch or anything of the sort EXCEPT that for C’s first interview we were actually in the middle of a romantic getaway weekend that had to be interrupted with one interview. He brought me along because he actually had no choice.

    I dressed nicely and waited patiently while he interviewed, but when he came out they invited him and ME back to have pizza/lunch with the residents and some of the attendings and then stay for “journal club” (where all the residents are required to read a journal article ahead of time and then gather to discuss it one day a week). I generally stayed quiet and went along with their conversations with each other, giving good responses when they asked me questions but being careful not to blabber on and on. I didn’t just outright say anything unless I was absolutely confident it applied to the situation. I was SUPER nervous in general- not that I would embarrass C but that I would just look like an idiot. It actually went well and the residents/attendings joked around a lot and were very interested in asking about me. I didn’t ask much from them.

    I don’t really know if that’s helpful or not but that was my experience. I did apologize for being an unexpected guest, as did C, but they were super kind and inviting and more than thanked us for coming even though we were on vacation together. They seemed to be very understanding.

    All in all, I would say that if YOU were invited it should be even less awkward than my experience. They might ask a little bit about you, which is easy, and then I would just go with the flow of everyone else’s conversation (I typically wait a little while before I actually try to be funny or anything).

    So yea. There’s all that. I seriously don’t think that was helpful at all but that was my experience! You’ll be fine, I have no doubts!

  2. Life of a Doctor's Wife December 7, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    I went to a couple of those pre-residency dinners when my husband was applying. I am SO GLAD I went! (Although I completely understand the stress you are feeling!) I think basically it is a chance for the residents to get to know your husband’s personality. And it is YOUR chance to check out the area and ask questions about living situation, wives groups, etc. One of the three dinners I went to was here, at the program my husband matched at. And the dinner was nice because we got to meet one of the future Chiefs who was AWESOME. She sold me on the program 100%.

    I think personality meshing is a HUGE indicator of whether your husband will enjoy residency, so definitely use it as a time to feel things out. And don’t worry about being “blonde.” I think as long as you are sweet and friendly, you will only improve the residents’ impression of your husband.

    My husband has been going to these dinners to meet prospective interns for the past two years… I should ask him what he thinks about spouses and maybe post about it.

    Good luck and have fun!

  3. Jani December 18, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    How was the dinner? I bet you had a good time and didn’t mess up at all!

  4. Red Stethoscope January 13, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    OK, I’m clearly behind the tide here, so I’d love to hear how this went! I don’t have any advice, having never done this myself, but I’d agree with Life of a Doctor’s Wife. Friends have told me that residency programs are very interested in you as a person and how well you will fit in at their hospital. So, I hope you just acted like yourself and met some nice people. My personal belief is that if you just keep smiling, even when you’re nervous, things will go better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

