Old Books

23 Oct

So J and I were perusing his library of medical school books. We stood there looking at them and wondered what on earth we were going to do with all these books! There are so many! They all have been highlighted and marked to death. So what do we do with them? We thought of having a bonfire but they were so expensive! Can’t we get at least a little back?

So I am asking all of you… What did you do with ALL THOSE BOOKS? Keep? Sell? Use them for White Elephant gifts? 😉 Heard of anything creative or original?

5 Responses to “Old Books”

  1. Annoyed Army Wife October 23, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    When I worked at a medical school in San Antonio the medical students organized a medical textbook drive to donate books to Africa. I got rid of 3 boxes of OccDoc’s old books. Here’s a link that might be of some assistance: http://www.amsa.org/AMSA/Homepage/About/Committees/Global/TextbookDonations.aspx

    • evaliern October 23, 2010 at 11:32 am #

      wow that is really cool. thanks!

  2. Lauren October 23, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    I’m not gonna lie. C is saving ALL of his textbooks. Some of his classmates think he is crazy for all the money he could be getting for them, yet instead he is choosing to keep them. I think he likes the idea of having a constant supply of knowledge at his fingertips (even though he could always look in medical journals, go to a library, or you know- ask someone, but alas there they are on our shelves. It makes for EXCELLENT office/study/library bookshelf fodder, which I like.

    This however, is not as beneficial to the world as the Annoyed Army Wife’s idea, which I like also.

  3. Life of a Doctor's Wife October 25, 2010 at 7:47 am #

    My husband saved a few and sold a few to med students the year behind him. It was definitely nice to get a few bucks back!

  4. Red Stethoscope January 13, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    My medical school also does the book donations for Africa drive, but I ended up donating a bunch of pre-medical textbooks to the medical library at a hospital I was working at (not University Hospital) just before starting medical school. Newer editions had been released, so I couldn’t get much money for them online, but I took my tax writeoff receipt with a smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

