$500 To You and You and You and You

14 Oct

So we are starting to book flights, hotels and rental cars for J’s interviews. OMG! SO EXPENSIVE! I feel like every interview is costing $500! yowza! We are booking them through Expedia or other sites like it to get a good deal, but why do they have to offer interviews during the holiday season? gar! Anything in late November is so expensive. Anyone have any suggestions to cut down costs? We are trying to stay with friends as much as possible but that isn’t always possible everywhere we go. Help! I don’t want to go broke!

7 Responses to “$500 To You and You and You and You”

  1. Jenni October 14, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    I know exactly what you’re talking about! Check out this site, too: bestfares.com. There seem to be some very good prices on there, and I have a friend who has used it before with no problems.

    One of my bf’s friends actually suggested trying to book all flights and hotel stays with the same company each time. He said this would help earn points and discounts on future flights and hotels. I haven’t decided what I think about that yet, but it may be something to consider. Good luck!

  2. Keely October 14, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    They were just discussing this on Lives of Doctor’s Wives!

    http://doctorwives.blogspot.com/2010/10/saving-money-in-applying-for-residency.html

    Lot’s of good ideas!

  3. Life of a Doctor's Wife October 14, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    Residency interviews were so expensive – sorry you are going through this! (I am not looking forward to fellowship interviews.)

    I wish I had suggestions… But alas, I have no idea how to cut the costs. Hang in there!

  4. Amy October 15, 2010 at 6:08 am #

    Ahhh us too and since I need to see some places I am also going. The only good thing is since we are still bf/gf we keep all money seperate… and based on his loans we will most likely have seperate funds for a looong time.

    Just my flights and hotels and cars for myself are a lot. But I can’t move from Philly to TX without taking one look at it…

  5. The Iconic Blog.com October 17, 2010 at 7:49 am #

    Some cities have decent hostel options. That can be a great way to save money on hotels. Also, I’m not sure how long you are planning on being in each area but staying an a vacation rental over a hotel usually cuts costs since you aren’t paying for maid service and other amenities (try VRBO.com).

    Other than that try and use public transportation instead of renting a car or choose hotels that offer free shuttle service to the surrounding areas.

    TrazelZoo always has great deals….

    Hope this helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

