Application Submitted!

3 Sep

I feel as though 4th year has now officially started! We submitted our application on September 1st! So for all who don’t know… This is an application for residency programs. How does it work? Everything is done through one website (LOVE technology!) We completed the form (well, J did) that turned out to be 5 pages in length and it included things like name, DOB, SSN, US citizen, examinations that have been taken/will be taken (aka boards), medical education and awards, experience (like work, volunteer jobs and research) and any publications. J’s looks pretty spiffy if you ask me šŸ™‚ It is also submitted with other things like a personal statement and letters of recommendation that J received from attendings he has worked with throughout medical school. After it is all filled out we select which programs we want to go to. This is easier said than done. I started out with writing a list (I be a lovin’ my lists!) of all the 50 states. I then went through one time crossing off the states that I could NEVER live in. Sadly Hawaii was a goner on that first round =( We love Hawaii but how could you live in such a vacation spot and be working so hard? One of the things we really love about our current place of residence is how when we leave for work on a Sunday morning before the sun comes up, we can take comfort knowing and seeing some of our neighbors doing the same thing. It just makes it a little easier. Anyway, back to what I was saying… So after that first round of states gone, we went to the “programs list”. (Can you tell how much I love lists?) This consisted of programs that we really wanted to go to. The last step of deciding went to places that we would like to live and picking programs in those areas. So now that we have our one huge list all put together it looks like this: $888 for over 70 programs in 22 states. YIKES! Of course we have our favorites and wishful thinking places/programs, but those will be a secret for now šŸ™‚ For now we must wait to be notified that programs want to interview us. So we are trying not to talk about it every day with each other and keep our minds distracted =)

6 Responses to “Application Submitted!”

  1. Amy September 3, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    So how long does it take for the schools to notify you about interviews? Is 70 a pretty typical number, or is that a lot? Thanks for sharing!

    • evaliern September 3, 2010 at 11:34 am #

      I’ve been reading other blogs and the earliest I have seen is sept 3 (today!) but I think that is REALLY fast. I’m thinking a couple weeks? I’ll blog about it when we get some =) And I think 70 is a lot… not too sure what others are doing.

  2. Annoyed Army Wife September 3, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    Good luck! I hope you guys get your top choice!

  3. Blod Life of a Med Wife September 3, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Yuck, so much work, I bet you’re glad it’s over! It’s like applying to med school all over again – šŸ˜›

  4. Lauren September 4, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Oh my goodness you guys go through a lot in the civilian system! The more I read about it, the more empathy I find myself having, knowing that it must be beyond nerve-wracking on most days. Bless you people who endure all of the cost and fretting to find a residency.

    C has to fill out the application, etc. etc. but he doesn’t have to wait for programs to notify him as to whether or not they want to interview him. They’ll interview anyone and everyone who wants to. I guess it’s because it’s the military and they’re in short supply of doctors always. I’m crossing my fingers and my toes and saying prayers that you guys get called by your top choices for interviews!

  5. Mandy September 4, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

    Super exciting! What’s funnest is to date those lists, then look back at them 6 months, a year, 5 years later and giggle at how things turned out =) Good luck, and thanks for being so honest when it comes to expenses!

Leave a Reply

