Blog Tour

30 Aug

Sometimes the countless hours you spend perusing the internet can actually pay off! I have been searching blogs to find other medical spouses (in school and residency) so that I can both learn from what they have gone through and relate to those who are going through school. And I have actually been successful! HAZA! I then came across this site and learned about the blog tour where we all share our story of medical school. So here it goes… the short version.

MSI- The first year was all about establishing a routine. My STUDent MD loves to study. Seriously. He spent probably every weekday and weekend in his office chair studying for hours upon hours. So much so that he needed a new chair by the end of the year! HA! So this year was full of finding balance between his love for the books and his love for me. I will never forget when he came after finishing his first test week. I forget how many he had (I’m sure it was like 8 or something) but after he came home and was finished, it was like a huge weight was lifted off of us. I was crying. He was crying. It was the moment when we realized that yes, the years are going to be hard, but we can do it! Not all the horror stories were true.

MSI Summer – He did research… best decision ever! {for us} He got so many publications and articles! So much fun to see his article on the COVER of a medical journal! Still so proud!!!

MSII- A fabulous year! This was the year where we learned that spending more time with each other can be done and still do well in school. This year was much easier on us. We had already established our routine from the first year, so this year we introduced more fun times. The last month was like a kick in the booty when he was studying for boards, but hey! I’ll take one month over one year! Boards treated him very well and opened up so many opportunities so it was worth it!

MSIII- What just happened?!?!? We started with the hardest rotations and ended with the easier ones. We are a balls-to-the-wall kind of couple. πŸ˜‰ Lets get this hard stuff over with so we can play when we are tired of it! This year was full of changes and lonely nights for me while he was in the hospital :/ But we survived and even got a little vacation in there at the end to Paris and London! πŸ™‚ {btw: I really loved it there!}

MSIV- Hello. This is where we are now. I am very excited about where this year and his passion for radiology will take us. Of all the years this one is both the most exciting and anxiety filled! With applications {due on Wednesday… YIKES!}, interviews, etc. etc. there are so many unknowns at this point! I am just excited to see where it will all lead! But for now we are just enjoying his days of leaving around 8am, coming home for lunch, and ending the day around 5pm… ahhhh! this is the life! We love you MSIV!

I would love to hear ANY and ALL advice any of you have! Thanks for stopping by!

10 Responses to “Blog Tour”

  1. Life of a Doctor's Wife August 30, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Hooray for MSIV! That was such a great year. I finally got to SEE my husband!

    Too bad for residency and all its attendant loooooong days… But it WILL get better someday – I have faith!

  2. Blod Life of a Med Wife August 30, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    I’m so excited for your blog! My husband started med school this fall and I’m starting an accelerated nursing program in November, so it will be fun to see what life is like on the other end of all this πŸ™‚

  3. Amy August 30, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    Glad I found your blog- my husband just started second year, which so far has been super easy- but I’m getting worried about 3rd! Happy to hear you survived and even got some traveling in. πŸ™‚

  4. Lauren August 30, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    YAY FOR YOU! I’m also in MSIV year with my husband, and though he is currently on away rotations, it’s nice to see (hear) him a little bit more relaxed, aside from residency interviews. Happy to have found you and I’m looking forward to reading more!

  5. doctorandmrs August 30, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    Good timing! I’m glad I stumbled upon this. My husband is starting his second year now, and I am starting my blog about the experience also. I look forward to reading other posts you’ve made. Thanks for a little encouragement!

  6. TheFamousStacie August 31, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    We lasted one day in Radiology Residency, however, if you husband burned out a chair in a year, he’s going to LOVE Radiology!

    I have yet to ever catch my husband studying in a chair. Studying on the bed, sprawled on the floor, or pacing large buildings is more like it!

    My Dr. H is now PGY3 Anesthesiology and loving it! Best of Luck!

  7. brittany August 31, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    I’m so happy you participated!! πŸ™‚ Sounds like your hubby is doing WONDERFULLY in school and it’s going to pay of big time from here on out!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  8. Annoyed Army Wife August 31, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    Hey, thanks for linking up to the blog tour! I’m glad I found you!

    • evaliern August 31, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

      I’m so glad I found it! I have really felt so much better finding all of you!

  9. Hannah January 12, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    I stumbled across your blog and just wanted to say good luck with everything!! My husband is a pgy1 and doing his transitional year right now. It has been awesome for the most part and he has a very good schedule (some rotations have him home by noon most days). Totally worth moving twice for. Anyway, we will be moving to florida in June where he will be starting rads. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

