Friend Friday

20 Aug

When your husband is super busy and you only work 3 days a week you HAVE to find something to do or you will go stir crazy! I have found many things to do like shop at Target, shop at the mall, shop at Forever 21… you know, all the very time consuming and very important things ๐Ÿ˜‰ But the days I love the most are the ones I spend with family and friends. Only working 3 days a week has its advantages and disadvantages. Advantage: malls/stores are NOT crowded on Mondays ๐Ÿ™‚ Disadvantage: almost everyone works on Mondays ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But my very good friend since 7th grade, Amy, has helped solve that one for me. At her last job she used to have Wednesdays off. We would go to Glen Ivy, lunch, Twilight showings (HA!), shopping, disneyland, etc. But that job was uber-dangerous… like guns and threats dangerous… so now she has a much better job, with an awesome co-worker Natalee and an hour long lunch break! (So long compared to my dismal 30 min break!) So, needless to say, I simply text her, say I’m hungry, and off we go! Things have changed a little since the day I received a call asking how accurate the pregnancy tests are… (99% my friend!) But this has made the last year so much fun! But let me take you back to the beginning…

Amy and I met when I was in the 7th grade during volleyball tryouts. We were pretty much the best people there… HA! Just kidding! We just got along really well, mostly because she was nice to me. You see, she was a “big” 8th grader and I was just some new “little” 7th grader. Ah the drama of middle school! Amy has always been such a great friend to me. She is always making me laugh and is always there for me. We were pretty much amazing during high school sports… Since our high school was small our team pretty much stayed the same from junior high and throughout high school. Of course there were people graduating and newbies coming in, but the core group was pretty much there the whole time. This is us during my freshman year of basketball. Ok, to be honest, we really sucked! HA! But we loved it! And we thought we were super cool cause we were on the Varsity team. We played together until she left me for college. Here are some other highlights from high school…

There’s just nothing like a best friend! During college we were both busy getting degrees and whatnot, but life has a way of keeping friends connected (before facebook and blogs) Amy and I both started dating our hubbies during hight school. In fact, our first dates were like 2 days apart. Its fun when you go through the same stages at the same time. This is us in each other’s weddings…

So on with the recent stuff… like I said she is having a baby… SOON! So I thought I would recap these past months before the baby gets here! Amy’s co-worker Natalee is amazing and very creative! Amy has had some very fun and exciting showers because of her. One I was a part of was a gender reveal party… Amy forced me to be the ONLY person who knew the gender of the baby and to reveal it at her party (like a month later! so hard!). So I have another friend who makes cakes and saw a picture of a cake in the shape of a pregnant belly. How perfect I thought, so I recruited the help of my family and we all made Amy’s reveal cake. It was such a blast and who knew we could just do that out of no where!?! So the party turned out great and Amy got it all on video! So cute! The cake inside was PINK, much to the surprise of the parents! HA! I don’t think she stillย fully believes its a girl. lol Anyway, I think I could probably go on and on and this would be the longest post known to man! But since I think Amy is the only one who reads this blog I know she’ll like it! haha! Thanks for being the best friend I could ever ask for Amy! Can’t wait to meet your cute lil one in a few more weeks!

PS~ She’s going to kill me for some of these pictures! HA! Am, just be glad I didn’t post some of the others ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 Responses to “Friend Friday”

  1. acotsenmoyer August 20, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    O….M….G….ok, well first: That was a very nice post my friend. You are the best too! and second: Yes, I do truly hate you for some of those. What in the world were we thinking?!?!??! Could I have gone through any more phases…ugly phase, ghetto phase, acne phase, braces phase, ugly phase, ugly phase…oh wait, I already said that one. Hey, at least we know we get better as time goes on instead of worse ๐Ÿ™‚ Love you!

  2. Jeff August 21, 2010 at 7:30 am #

    So glad you have a great friend to keep you company while I’m busy! Thanks Amy!

Leave a comment