Friendship and Pasta Bags

17 Aug

J and I are part of a group from med school called JMA. Basically what we do in this group is meet other married medical students/spouses, eat together and just hang out.  When J was in his orientation week for the first year of med school he came home with a bag of pasta and a jar of pasta sauce. He told me a “group” gave it to him and invited us to a “get together” later that week. So I’m thinking, oh no! do they really think we are going to be that poor and time deprived that we can’t afford a dinner?!?! Well after some research we discovered it was a married couples group. Phew! So we get in our car and drive to the impossible-to-find-house and meet others who basically are just as scared and unsure of what we just got ourselves into! What is it about the automatic friendship that builds when you meet someone and they know EXACTLY what you are going through and then go through it with you? It’s like when you are on a sports team. Everyone is working hard, sweating, going through highs and lows and all the while building something that no one else can {seemingly} understand. Well, anyway, we ended up having a great time. We met some interesting people 😉 and also some people who we became very close with. We stayed in the group every year and have continually gotten more and more involved. This year I am actually VP! HA!

In truth, I really think this group has been life changing and life saving! Most of us know what it feels like to start at a new school or new job where you don’t know a soul. Its scary and very intimidating, but at least you know you will be studying/working with these people and will get to know them eventually. Now imagine moving across the country into this unknown world and being the spouse of this person. You have no job, no friends and don’t know how you are going to survive for the next 4 years! I know you are thinking “but you lived in riverside before! that’s not moving across the country!” True, true. But this is the story of many of my friends and it very well could be my story if the match sends us off to Timbuktu! 😦

Last Friday we had our first event of the year where all the newbies and the oldies come and meet. It was really a great event. We had over 70 people there! I really hope that this group can be of as much comfort to these students and spouses as it was for us.

The most exciting “first JMA event” for me was last year at the beginning of our 3rd year. We met so many great people and we do so much together now! These wives are amazing and I am so glad they are in my life! We have Bible studies, beach trips, PROMs, dinners, movie nights, etc. etc. I am just so thankful for all these girls! Here are some pics of the event!

One Response to “Friendship and Pasta Bags”

  1. Aimee Diocares August 25, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    Hey Evalie!

    I just wanted to say hello, and let you know that I am thankful for your sweet smile and kindness at the JMA picnic, you made me feel so comfortable. I am married to a first year, and have been super scared of the 4+ years ahead of Juan and I. As I sat on the blanket looking around at all the married upper classmen, I leaned over and whispered into Juan’s ear “All these people are still married, I think we are going to make it.” Ha-ha We both laughed, but I was seriously put at ease. Looking at static’s it was daunting, but we knew God was leading and had His peace. We got married in Texas exactly a month before classes started, went on a honeymoon and then headed straight to Loma Linda. It’s been crazy!

    Anyways, just wanted to say thank you, and Godspeed on this up coming year.

    Aimee Diocares

Leave a Reply

